This feature applies to reservations received via your Smoobu website or Booking System. When guests book and select Credit card as a payment method, Smoobu will automatically charge the guest's card.
Hosts can receive a pre-payment (fixed amount or %) at the time of booking as usual, and now the remaining balance can be charged through Smoobu in just a few clicks!
Smoobu now shows hosts how much a guest has paid so far.
You can find this information in the Booking Details section:
Charge the balance / remaining amount
Smoobu now stores credit card details for hosts to charge guests with open invoices and remaining amounts.
1. When the balance is due for a direct booking, hosts can collect it through Smoobu by clicking on the Charge card button
2. Enter the amount. The format is 00.00
For example, if you wish to charge 150.20 it will charge $150.20 or £150.20 or 150.20€, depending on the currency you have set in Smoobu here
Add the description, and press Save
Send Stripe Payment Link
You can now send a Stripe Payment Link to guests for all unpaid items!
Want to learn more? See our guide here: Send a Stripe payment link to your Guests
Prefer automated balance collections?
We have external integrations with x2 integrated companies who work with security deposits and automated balance collections:
ChargeAutomation is a globally-recognized leader in facilitating smooth reservation payment & security deposit collection from guests. Automatically take full or partial split payments according to a due date.
Find out how to integrate it with your Smoobu account here: Connect your ChargeAutomation account
Swikly is a third party online payment system that allows users to secure reservations, pay balance payments or security deposits via a credit/debit card imprint.
Find out how to integrate it with your Smoobu account in our guide here: Connect your Swikly account
Send an automated message to request a remaining balance
This messaging feature involves conditional messaging. Smoobu will verify whether a specific booking's payment has been completed, and only if it hasn't, it will send the guest a message.
Want to learn more? See our guide here: Send an automated message to collect remaining payment